Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC)/Darrell G. Kirch, MD Scholarship

Established in 2019 by the AAMC Board of Directors, this scholarship honors the exemplary leadership of Dr. Darrell G. Kirch and recognizes his deep commitment to creating a diverse workforce of healthcare professionals. This $10,000 scholarship will be awarded to eight first-year underrepresented medical students (for the 2019-20 academic year), who are enrolled at an LCME-accredited U.S., MD-granting medical school. The selected students must demonstrate both community service and leadership, and will be eligible to renew for another three years (i.e., receive four years of funding), provided that they meet renewal criteria. The scholarship funds should be used for tuition fees and/or living expenses. The scholarship recipients will be required to attend the Nickens Awards session at the AAMC’s Learn Serve Lead 2019 Annual Meeting in Phoenix, Arizona. Conference registration fees will be waived and AAMC will cover up to two nights of lodging for each scholar.

PLEASE NOTE: Because this is a multi-year award, we will not be accepting any new applications for this scholarship until 2023. 

Who Is Eligible?

School Year:
School State:
Enrolled Program: , , ,

Share This Page: