NMF Hosts the 2018 Dr. David Kearney McDonogh Ophthalmology/ENT Lecture and Scholarship Reception

On November 1, 2018 National Medical Fellowships (NMF) held the annual Dr. David Kearney McDonogh Scholarship in Ophthalmology/ENT Reception at Mist Harlem.  Dr. McDonogh was born into slavery on a plantation in New Orleans, LA in 1821 and became the first African-American physician in Ophthalmology/ENT in America. The Dr. David K.  McDonogh Scholarship in Ophthalmology/ENT Ophthalmology Lecture reception and Scholarhship Fund was created in honor of Dr. McDonogh’s legacy by a committee of 10 New York ophthalmologists and ENT physicians who are dedicated to increasing the number of underrepresented physicians interested in Ophthalmology/ENT programs.  This Fund annually awards two $5,000 scholarships.  Eligible candidates must be currently enrolled in an accredited medical school in the State of New York; from a Black, Afro-Latino or Native American background; be committed to academic excellence, research, leadership and service; and have an interest in a career in Ophthalmology or Ear, Nose & Throat (ENT) specialties.

The 2018 Dr. David K. McDonogh Scholarships in Ophthalmology/ENT were awarded to Emery Jamerson, a fourth-year medical student at Columbia University Medical School and Giselle Lynch, a fourth-year medical student of Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai.  These scholars embody the four pillars of this scholarship; Academic Excellence, Research, Leadership and Service.

Emery Jamerson, 2018 Dr. David K. McDonogh Scholarship Winner

Mr. Jamerson will graduate with his Medical Degree in 2019 from Columbia University Medical School and is pursuing a residency in Ophthalmology. Mr. Emery Jamerson has shown great commitment to service of his community, zeal for education, and passion for Ophthalmology. Born and raised in Los Angeles, California, in a community with limited healthcare literacy and access, Mr. Jamerson understood at an early age the importance of education as a means to personal growth and service to others. During his undergraduate studies in Neuroscience and Behavior at Columbia University, he taught health workshops to teens in underfunded New York City (NYC) high schools that lack health education in order to give students the knowledge and skills necessary for healthy decision-making. He also piloted a middle school education program to provide earlier education to increase prevention of harmful behaviors. As a medical student, Mr. Jamerson has worked with Columbia’s Tele-Ophthalmology Mobile Vision Unit to provide free vision exams to at-risk populations in the NYC area, and he continues to serve as a mentor for students from backgrounds underrepresented in medicine. Mr. Jamerson aims to continue his role as a life-long learner and educator, and to continue diversifying medicine to further reach communities that remain underserved by the current modalities of medical practice.

Giselle Lynch, 2018 Dr. David K. McDonogh Scholarship Winner

Ms. Giselle Lynch will receive her Medical Degree in 2019 from the Mount Sinai School of Medicine, and she too is pursuing a residency in ophthalmology.  Ms. Lynch, graduated from Williams College with a degree in History and Africana Studies. During her medical school career, Ms. Lynch has gained expertise in curriculum reform and faculty development regarding race and bias in medical education. She co-designed an elective course: Deconstructing Race in Medicine and Health, which has been re-created at Baylor School of Medicine and Columbia School of Nursing. In 2016, she was awarded the Institute for Medical Education’s Medical Student Excellence in Teaching Award and the Herbert W. Nickens Medical Student Scholarship by the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC) for her leadership in addressing inequities in medical education and health care for racial minorities. Ms. Lynch has prepared a first author manuscript on OCTA and diabetic retinopathy with her team at New York Eye and Ear Infirmary (NYEEI). She has presented her work at the Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology (ARVO) and was selected to present at the National Medical Association (NMA) Rabb Venable Excellence in Ophthalmology Research Program. Ms. Lynch was awarded the Department of Ophthalmology Research Award at NYEEI’s Resident and Research Fellows Research Day in June 2018. She is currently working on a second first-author manuscript on sickle cell retinopathy in collaboration with Johns Hopkins Wilmer Eye Institute.

On behalf of the Board of Directors, NMF would like to thank all of our supporters! A special thanks to the founding committee members: Karen Allison MD, Ann Arthur-Andrew MD, Nneka O. Brooks MD, Jacqueline Busingye MD, Benjeil Z. Edghill, MD, Rondai Evans MD, Chaneve Jeanniton MD, Daniel Laroche MD (Founding Chair), John Mitchell MD, and Dwayne Rollins MD.  We would also like to thank 2018 committee members Melinda Barnes MD, Tameisha Frempong MD,

Committee Members with Scholars

and Brandon Johnson MD. A special thanks to our Platinum Sponsor: The Jorge N. Buxton Microsurgical Education Foundation, Silver Sponsors: NYU Langone Medical Center- Dr. Joel Schuman, Chair, Columbia School of Ophthalmology – Dr. George A. Cioffi, Chair, and NYC Retina, Bronze Sponsors: New York Eye and Ear Infirmary of Mt. Sinai – Dr. James Tsai, Chair and Mt. Sinai Icahn School of Medicine – Dr. Gary Butts, Dean for Diversity Programs.  Corporate Booth Sponsors: Akorn Pharmaceuticals, Alcon Pharmaceuticals, New World Medical, Omeros-Omidria, and Novartis Pharmaceuticals, and, our Benefactors for the event: 3 Visions Ophthalmology P.C., Ann Arthur-Andrew MD, Tamiesha Frempong, MD, Samuel Guillory, Ivantis, Inc., James C. Tsai, MD, and Kenneth Wald, MD. We also want to thank all of the donors who gave smaller amounts.  Your contributions helped to make this happen.

There are less than 2% of Black and Latino Ophthalmologist and ENT physicians, meanwhile they represent over 50% of New York City’s population.  You can change this statistic by supporting this scholarship to support the next generation of ophthalmologists and ENT physicians. For 2019 we will be expanding to offer a national scholarship. If you have not contributed, you can contribute by clicking here for next year’s scholarship, or send a check to:

National Medical Fellowships

ATTN: Dr. David K McDonogh Scholarship Fund

347 Fifth Ave, Suite 510

New York, NY 10016

Dr. Daniel Laroche with Patricia Dudley-Worthy, Dr. David K. McDonogh’s great grand-daughter holding Dr. McDonogh’s MD diploma from Columbia University
Dr. David K. McDonogh Scholarship Committee Chair, Dr. Daniel Laroche with NMF President, Dr. Esther Dyer and Co-Committee Founder, Dr. John Mitchell
Dr. and Mrs. Richard Koplin
Comments are closed.