2019 New York Champions of Health Awards

May 14, 2019 @ 6:00 pm – 9:00 pm
The Union League Club, New York City
38 East 37th Street
New York
NY 10016
Adora Evans

A Sold-Out Room for NMF’s 2019 New York Champions of Health Awards

In an unprecedented show of support, more than 260 representatives of the medical and business communities joined together at New York City’s Union League Club on May 14th to honor the achievements and forward the goals of National Medical Fellowships.  The event raised more than half a million dollars towards funding NMF’s mission to build the next generation of healthcare leaders.

“I’d like to offer my sincerest thanks to everyone who made this year’s New York event such a resounding success, including our Patron Sponsors, Supporters and creators of Named Scholarships,” stated NMF President & CEO Dr. Esther R. Dyer, “and I certainly encourage you to continue your generous support. I especially want to thank our Sponsor, The Robert Wood Johnson Special Contribution Fund of the Princeton Area Community Foundation; and our six Lead Sponsors— Mayo Clinic, the American Association of Medical Colleges (AAMC), Johnson & Johnson, SUNY Downstate Medical Center, the Josiah Macy Jr. Foundation, and Mount Sinai Health System/ Mount Sinai School of Medicine.”

Third year Icahn School of Medicine student Noor Maza offered an inspiring Student Testimonial and Juanita L. Watts, MD, Regional Coordinator Emeritus of Women’s Health at Kaiser Permanente, an NMF Alumna and incoming Chair of NMF’s National Alumni Council, once again conducted an engaging and highly productive Fund the Mission Auction.

Over the course of the evening NMF presented awards to four distinguished physician leaders for their contributions to NMF’s goal of full medical equality for the nation’s underserved populations. The Honorees included: Darrell G. Kirch, MD, NMF Board Member and President and CEO of the American Association of Medical Colleges (AAMC), NMF Founder’s Award; Gianrico Farrugia, MD, President and CEO of Mayo Clinic, NMF Diversity in Leadership Award; Wayne J. Riley, MD, MPH, MBA, MACP, President of the SUNY Health Science Center at Brooklyn Downstate Medical Center, NMF Distinguished Alumni Award; and Sandra Stratford, MD, MSc, Chief Medical Officer of Raytheon Company, NMF Corporate Citizen Award. Their personal stories and messages of encouragement continued to resonate long after guests had departed.  

Dr. Dyer concluded the evening with her aspirations for even greater NMF achievements in the months ahead and an invitation to all to attend the 2020 Champions of Health Awards New York.

Comments are closed.