2019 Los Angeles Champions of Health Awards

June 26, 2019 @ 6:00 pm – 9:00 pm
The Jonathan Club
545 S. Figueroa Street
Los Angeles
CA 90071
Adora Evans

A Resounding Show of Support for NMF’s 2019 Los Angeles Champions of Health Awards

On the evening of June 26th, more than 240 representatives of the medical and business communities came together at The Jonathan Club in Los Angeles to honor the achievements and forward the goals of National Medical Fellowships.  NMF President & CEO, Dr. Esther R. Dyer, offered her sincere personal thanks to the event’s key supporters.

“I especially want to recognize our Sponsor: Gilead; our Leaders: AltaMed, Children’s Hospital Los Angeles, Children’s Hospital Los Angeles Medical Group and the Don Levin Trust; our Patron Sponsors: Aetna, Kaiser Permanente, Dignity Health and PIH Health; our Supporters: David Geffen School of Medicine, UCLA Health and Keck School of Medicine of USC; and our Dean’s Table Sponsors: the Real Men Cook Foundation, Wells Fargo and the Drs. Ludlow and Ruth Creary Family Foundation.”  

Over the course of the evening NMF presented awards to six distinguished leaders for their contributions to NMF’s goal of full medical equality for the nation’s underserved populations.  The Honorees and their awards included: Drs. Ludlow and Ruth Creary, Co-Founders of the Creary Family Foundation, NMF Legacy Award; Dr. C. Freeman, President, Los Angeles County Medical Association and NMF Alumni Council Member, NMF Distinguished Alumni Award; Mr. George W. Greene, President and Chief Executive Officer, Hospital Association of Southern California, NMF Corporate Citizen Award; Dr. David C. Lizárraga, Chairman and Founder, TELACU Education Foundation, NMF Pioneer Award; Dr. John F. Milligan, President and Chief Executive Officer (Retired), Gilead Sciences, NMF Leadership in Healthcare Award; and Kristen Miranda, California Market President and West Region Head, Aetna, NMF Corporate Leadership Award.

Jessie Guerrero, 2017 NMF Primary Care Leadership Program Scholar and 2021 medical degree candidate at Charles R. Drew University offered a compelling first-hand view of the many health challenges faced by underserved communities, and the critical need for more minority Primary Care Physicians. 

Haley Allen was named the first recipient of the Genita Evangelista Johnson Endowed Scholarship for rising first year college students interested in medicine.  Haley will be attending Rice University in the Fall. 

Juanita L. Watts, MD, Family Medicine Physician, Regional Coordinator Emeritus and Women’s Health Leader at Kaiser Permanente SCPMG, an NMF Alumna and Chair of NMF’s National Alumni Council, once again conducted an engaging and highly successful Fund-the-Mission and Auction.

Dr. Dyer concluded with special thanks to the evening’s Honorary Chairs, Mr. Cástulo de la Rocha and Mr. Paul. S. Viviano; to its Co-Chairs, Mr. Larry J. Harrison and Dr. Laura Mosqueda; to Members of the Board of Directors and the Alumni Council for their ongoing dedication, and to the evening’s outstanding Honorees and Award Presenters.  She offered her assurances of even greater NMF achievements in the months ahead and an invitation to all to attend the 2020 Champions of Health Awards in Los Angeles.

Comments are closed.